Störwerte / Nuisance Value


Andrea Bellu & Matei Bellu, Fokus Grupa mit Audrey Morency, Anouk Muller, Pol Olk und Laura Winterberg, Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt, kuda.org & Group for Conceptual Politics & Zoran Todorović, Benjamin Tiven & Erik Wysocan

exhibtion view. photo: WEST. Fotostudio

In 2015–16 the International Fellowship Program for Art and Theory hosted investigations that, in a broad sense, raise questions about the valence of value in the context of financial capitalism’s seemingly ubiquitous determination of all areas of life. The Fellows Andrea Bellu, Fokus Grupa, Anthony Iles, Benjamin Tiven and Marina Vishmidt focused in their respective work on pre-national, now forgotten, social structures in areas of the current eastern border of Europe (Andrea Bellu), egalitarian concepts in the field of interior design since Modernism (Fokus Grupa), on the blending of (monetary) value, art, and audio-visual media (Benjamin Tiven), and on forms of relations between artistic practice and social crisis (Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt).
Working with the fellows already mentioned some of their guests joined the exhibition: Matei Bellu (by invitation of Andrea Bellu), Zoran Todorović, kuda.org & Group for Conceptual Politics (by invitation of Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt), Audrey Morency, Anouk Muller, Pol Olk and Laura Winterberg (students of Fokus Grupa) and Erik Wysocan (as Benjamin Tiven’s cooperation partner).
The exhibition is the outcome of a debate between the projects, artistic ideas and working methods of the fellows; their artistic approaches, fields of investigation, and overall themes formed the starting point for the conception of the show. The curatorial approach has envisaged the step-by-step development of the exhibition’s leitmotif and display parallel to the progress in the works of the artists and theorists involved. Expectedly, these processes were completed just shortly before the opening and, in some cases, even after, during the first days of the exhibition as part of the programmed discursive events.

As a technical term, “nuisance value” describes the value subtracted from the setpoint of a system in the case of its dysfunction. In the social and also in the legal sense, “nuisance value” is the capacity of a person or a group to create “deviations” from a society’s accepted norms. Generally used in a negative sense, the concept of nuisance value is understood in the context of this exhibition as a positive necessity for the self-evaluation of a social state. When does a deviation become a nuisance? What type and degree of deviation can a democratic organisational system tolerate? What is the effect of a disturbance in the established structures of social memory respectively in dominant formations of knowledge? And what anticipations can be triggered by such nuisances?

Visitor Information
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
6020 Innsbruck, Austria
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Wed-Fri 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 11.00 – 15.00

Curated by:
Andrei Siclodi

Störwerte

Andrea Bellu & Matei Bellu, Fokus Grupa mit Audrey Morency, Anouk Muller, Pol Olk und Laura Winterberg, Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt, kuda.org & Group for Conceptual Politics & Zoran Todorović, Benjamin Tiven & Erik Wysocan

Störwerte – Ausstellungsansicht. Foto: WEST. Fotostudio

Das Internationale Fellowship-Programm für Kunst und Theorie stellte im Jahr 2015/16 Arbeitsvorhaben in den Mittelpunkt, die in einem erweiterten Sinn Fragen nach der Valenz des Wertbegriffs im Angesicht eines heute scheinbar allgegenwärtigen und alle Lebensbereiche bestimmenden Finanzkapitalismus aufwerfen. Die Fellows Andrea Bellu, Fokus Grupa, Anthony Iles, Benjamin Tiven und Marina Vishmidt beschäftigten sich in ihren jeweiligen Arbeitsvorhaben mit vornationalstaatlichen, heute vergessenen gesellschaftlichen Strukturen in Gebieten an der heutigen Ostgrenze EUropas und deren Stellenwert für die Gegenwart (Andrea Bellu), mit egalitären Gestaltungsvorstellungen im Bereich der (Innen-)Architektur (Fokus Grupa), mit der Verquickung von (Geld-)Wert, Information und audiovisuellen Medien (Benjamin Tiven) sowie mit den Beziehungen zwischen künstlerischer Praxis und sozialer Krise im Hinblick auf die Frage nach der „Selbstauflösung“ der Kunst (Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt).

Zu den bereits genannten Fellows gesellen sich in der Ausstellung auch einige ihrer Gäste: Matei Bellu (auf Einladung von Andrea Bellu), Zoran Todorović, kuda.org / Group for Conceptual Politics (auf Einladung von Anthony Iles & Marina Vishmidt), Audrey Morency, Anouk Muller, Pol Olk, Laura Winterberg (Student_innen von Fokus Grupa) sowie Erik Wysocan (als Kooperationspartner von Benjamin Tiven).

Die Ausstellung Störwerte ist das Ergebnis der Auseinandersetzung mit den Arbeitsvorhaben und den Arbeitsweisen der Fellows. Ihre künstlerischen und kunsttheoretischen Ansätze, Untersuchungsgebiete und Themen bildeten den Ausgangspunkt. Das kuratorische Konzept sah die schrittweise Entwicklung des inhaltlichen Leitmotivs und des Displays parallel zum Fortschreiten der Vorhaben der involvierten Künstler_innen und Theoretiker_innen vor. Naturgemäß konnten diese Prozesse erst kurz vor der Ausstellungseröffnung abgeschlossen werden, in manchen Fällen sogar erst an den ersten Öffnungstagen im Rahmen von diskursiven Veranstaltungen.

„Störwert“ beschreibt als technischer Begriff den Wert, der im Falle einer Störung üblicherweise aus dem Sollwert eines Systems subtrahiert wird. Im sozialen, aber auch im juridischen Sinn bezeichnet „Störwert“ den Befähigungsgrad einer Person oder Gruppe, „Abweichungen“ von geltenden Normen einer Gesellschaft zu verursachen. In der Regel als negative Setzung angewandt, wird der Begriff des Störwerts im Kontext dieser Ausstellung jedoch beispielhaft als positive Notwendigkeit der Selbstbewertung eines gesellschaftlichen Zustands verstanden. Wann wird eine Abweichung zur Störung? Welche Art von und welchen Grad an Devianzen verträgt ein demokratisches Organisationssystem? Was bewirkt eine Störung gesellschaftlicher Erinnerungsmuster beziehungsweise vorherrschender Wissensformationen? Und welche Antizipationen können diese Störungen hervorrufen?

Ausstellungsbroschüre

BesucherInnen-Information
Kunstpavillon

Rennweg 8a
A-6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 58 11 33
pavillon@kuenstlerschaft.at

Mi-Fr 11.00 – 18.00
Sa 11.00 – 15.00

Kuratiert von:
Andrei Siclodi