ARTIST TALK – MAEVE BRENNAN

ARCHIVES OF RESISTANCE AND REPAIR
Lexington Davis in conversation with Maeve Brennan

12.01.2022 | 19.00 CET
Streaming via ZOOM (Kenncode: 150293) and live on FACEBOOK.
The talk will be held in English.

Throughout her artistic practice, Maeve Brennan has explored the political and historical resonance of material and place. Using excerpts from her films The Drift (2017) and Jerusalem Pink (2015) as a departure point, Brennan will elaborate on how her work traces economies, memory, and history through objects and archives. For this event, Brennan will be in conversation with curator Lexington Davis to discuss how she has developed these ideas in more recent work, including her 2021 installation The Goods (Box Series) (2021), which is currently on view in the exhibition ARCHIVES OF RESISTANCE AND REPAIR at the Neue Galerie Innsbruck.

MAEVE BRENNAN is an artist and filmmaker based in London. She is the current Stanley Picker Fine Art Fellow (2019-22) and is participating in British Art Show 9. Solo exhibitions include Chisenhale Gallery, London; The Whitworth, University of Manchester; Spike Island, Bristol; Mother’s Tankstation, Dublin; Wäinö Aaltonen Museum of Art in Turku, Finland; Kunsthaus Bregenz, Austria, and OUTPOST, Norwich. Her films have been screened internationally at festivals including International Film Festival Rotterdam, Sheffield Doc Fest, and FILMADRID (Official Competition 2018). Brennan was a fellow of Home Workspace Program, Ashkal Alwan, Beirut (2013 -14), and was the recipient of the Jerwood/FVU Award 2018 and the Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award 2021.

LEXINGTON DAVIS is writer, curator, and art historian based between Amsterdam and Edinburgh. She is currently completing a PhD at the University of St Andrews, funded by the Arts & Humanities Research Council. Her research explores feminist art from an intersectional perspective, focusing on care, labour, value, and collectivity. She has previously held curatorial and research positions at the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Recently, she has organised exhibitions at the Robert Capa Contemporary Photography Center, Budapest and the Finnish Museum of Photography, Helsinki. She lectures at Leiden University and regularly presents work at conferences in Europe and North America. Her writing has appeared in publications including Espace art actuel (forthcoming), Flash Art, and Metropolis M. She earned a BA from Bard College in New York and an MA from the Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, where she was a Fulbright fellow.

ARTIST TALK – MAEVE BRENNAN

ARCHIVES OF RESISTANCE AND REPAIR
Lexington Davis in conversation with Maeve Brennan

12.01.2022 | 19.00 CET
Streaming via ZOOM (Kenncode: 150293) und Live auf FACEBOOK.
Das Gespräch findet in englischer Sprache statt.

In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis untersucht Maeve Brennan die politische und historische Resonanz von Materialien und Orten. Im Gespräch mit der Kuratorin Lexington Davis wird die Künstlerin ausgehend von ihren Filmen The Drift (2017) und Jerusalem Pink (2015) aufzeigen, wie sie in diesen Ökonomien, kulturellem Erbe und Geschichte anhand von Objekten und Archiven nachspürt. Ihre Installation The Goods (Box Series) (2021) ist derzeit in der Ausstellung ARCHIVES OF RESISTANCE AND REPAIR in der Neuen Galerie Innsbruck zu sehen.

MAEVE BRENNAN ist Künstlerin und Filmemacherin. Aktuell ist sie Stanley Picker Fine Art Fellow (2019-22) und nimmt an der British Art Show 9 teil. Zu den Einzelausstellungen gehören Chisenhale Gallery, London; The Whitworth, University of Manchester; Spike Island, Bristol; Mother’s Tankstation, Dublin; Wäinö Aaltonen Museum of Art in Turku, Finnland; Kunsthaus Bregenz, Österreich und OUTPOST, Norwich. Ihre Filme wurden international auf Festivals wie dem International Film Festival Rotterdam, Sheffield Doc Fest und FILMADRID (Offizieller Wettbewerb 2018) gezeigt. Brennan war Stipendiatin des Home Workspace Program, Ashkal Alwan, Beirut (2013-14) und wurde mit dem Jerwood/FVU Award 2018 und dem Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award 2021 ausgezeichnet.

LEXINGTON DAVIS ist Schriftstellerin, Kuratorin und Kunsthistorikerin und lebt in Amsterdam und Edinburgh. Derzeit promoviert sie an der University of St Andrews. In ihrer Forschung untersucht sie feministische Kunst aus einer interdisziplinären Perspektive und konzentriert sich dabei auf Care, Arbeit und Kollektivität. Zuvor war sie als Kuratorin und Forscherin am Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, und am Los Angeles County Museum of Art tätig. In jüngster Zeit hat sie Ausstellungen im Robert Capa Contemporary Photography Center, Budapest, und im Finnischen Museum für Fotografie, Helsinki, organisiert. Sie hält Vorlesungen an der Universität Leiden und präsentiert ihre Arbeiten regelmäßig auf Konferenzen in Europa und Nordamerika. Ihre Texte sind in Publikationen wie Espace art actuel (erscheint demnächst) oder Flash Art und Metropolis M erschienen. Sie erwarb einen BA am Bard College in New York und einen MA an der Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, wo sie ein Fulbright-Stipendium erhielt.